top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauryl Mergen

What I learned in a term of blogging

I came into this class expecting it to be an opportunity to start and maintain a blog with the structure of a class keeping me in check. I have always wanted to have a blog, but I knew I could never actually maintain it and consistently post without something making me do it, or at least to start. Along with the blog itself, there are a few other takeaways I want to highlight.


Firstly, dealing with online platforms is insanely frustrating at first. I chose Wix, which is said to be the most user-friendly, and still spent a ton of time at the beginning of the term figuring out how to develop my site. If Wix is the easiest, I don’t even want to imagine what other more complicated website builders are like. It is, however, a labor of love, and after many frustrating hours, I began to navigate the editor and dashboard much more easily. I think that because I put so much toil into the site, I am even more proud of how it turned out.


Secondly, I had a bit of imposter syndrome when I first started writing posts. I have spent so much time on other people's travel blogs that when I went to write a post, my first thought was “hang on, what makes you think you have any authority on this subject”. My blog had the potential to make it seem like I travel way more than I do. Once I started writing, however, I remembered that I did put countless hours into planning this trip, did actually go to some incredible places and discover new things, and really do have at least a few insightful and hopefully unique things to put out there. These doubts made me super hesitant to share any of my posts on social media because I didn’t want people to think that I claim to be some sort of expert. Once I did, however, I get so much positive feedback, some even from people I barely knew, and realized that people were just enjoying my posts, rather than thinking “this girl is just trying to make herself look cool online”. I also just told myself “Lauryl, it doesn’t matter what people think, and yeah… you are cool.” And


Lastly, I learned that it is so much easier to write a blog post when you trick yourself into thinking you’re just doing it for fun. During our blog a day week, I had some serious writer’s block, even if I knew what content I wanted to produce because I was focusing so much on my post as something I just had to get done. I am glad that we did this challenge because it really helped me to figure out my writing style for this blog, and ever since that week I have found it a lot easier to formulate posts. When I start a post a few days ahead of time, it feels like more of an opportunity and less of a task, and everything flows out more freely. As you can see by these conflicting statements, I’m still not sure how to feel about writing for a deadline versus writing without one, but maybe it the combination and the timing of the two. Once I got a handle on my style after the blog a day a week, and when I was writing ahead of time and just telling myself it was fun, I enjoyed writing and reading my post so much more. I am hoping that once this class is over I can keep this mindset and keep writing with not just a distant deadline, but none at all!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trash! An attempt at reducing our waste while on the road

I don’t pretend to be an expert on “Zero Waste” practices. I’m just as guilty as everyone else when it comes to consuming single-use plastics, and stabbing a plastic straw through the lid of my freque

Glen Foerd

I have the privilege to host a guest poster on my site this week! Anamata is an aspiring vet who hosts her own blog focusing on biology and wildlife and has responded to my call for destination inspir

bottom of page