top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauryl Mergen

The Best Backpacking Meals: Mountain House

Updated: Nov 6, 2019

I loved settling into a campsite to cook a fresh dinner, but sometimes our hearts weren't done exploring at the same time as our stomachs. On these nights, we used my mini backpacking stove to boil water and rehydrate a backpacking meal. The portability of the stove and meals allowed us to stuff our faces while feasting our eyes on some of the most spectacular views.


My all time favorite brand of backpacking meals is the Mountain House Brand. I've tried seven of their numerous flavors, and have yet to be disappointed. Each meal has two servings with about 15g of protein each, and they're surprisingly filling for being so light weight. Each packet is around 5 ounces and shrink wrapped, so they’re able to fit into small crannies in any bag, and don’t add a ton of extra weight. When packing, however, it’s important to consider the extra water you will need to carry. Overall, however, carrying the packets and extra water is lighter and easier than packing ingredients up a mountain. All you need to do is boil the right amount of water, normally about 16 ounces, add it to the pack, stir, close the pack and wait the appropriate amount of time. After a few minutes you can stir it again, and when it's ready, you can eat it straight out of the bag. My personal favorites so far have been Chicken Teriyaki and Beef Stroganoff. I would also recommend Chicken and Dumplings and Chicken Fajita. Seriously, you can’t go wrong. Aside from dinners they also make breakfasts, sides and desserts! I’m still waiting for opportunities to try most of the deserts, but I’ve had the creme brule twice, and it’s DELICIOUS. If you think of it as the freshly torched gourmet french dessert, you might be disappointed. If you’re looking for a creamy vanilla pudding with crispy burnt sugar sprinkled over the top, you’ll be stoked. Pair it with a view and it’s a match made in heaven. Mountain House’s breakfast options are also worth trying. I was skeptical at first because freeze dried eggs kinda sketch me out, but I was pleasantly surprised. My favorites are biscuits and gravy and breakfast hash.


I have no idea how Mountain House manages to make such tasty combinations out of freeze dried ingredients, but every time I indulge in one of these meals I am left smiling and satisfied. I think part of the magic of these meals comes from the fact that every time I’ve ever had one it's been after hiking miles in the sun, wind, or rain. Whether they’re good because I’m hungry or because they’ve unlocked the secrets of freeze dried meals, I’ll always get excited when I rip off the top of a Mountain House Packet.

Because of these backpacking meals, we were able to enjoy breakfasts, dinners and deserts at the top of Dewey Point in Yosemite, underneath Landscape Arch in Arches National Park, on the highest Mesa we could reach in the Fiery Furnace Slot Canyons, and in a gas station parking lot in Nevada at 3 AM.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page