top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauryl Mergen

Deuter Aircontact Backpack Review

Aside from a few short walks around REI, I didn’t really test my backpacking pack before hitting the trail. Risky, I know, but we didn't have much time before to test anything out, and luckily, I was overwhelmingly pleased with it. If you are new to backpacking or just haven't had time to try out your gear, you've come to the right place! Here's a breakdown of my thoughts about the Deuter Aircontact SL 50+10L Backpack - Women's


I was lucky enough to be gifted this backpack by my Dad for my High School Graduation. While the price tag is hefty, I always make sure he knows it was worth every penny. The REI employee made up a special “graduation” discount! This backpack has so many pros that I don’t even know where to start! Firstly, I love the big cushy hip belt and breathable material of the straps and back. The hip belt kept most of the weight centered on my hips, instead of my shoulders, and was padded enough to not leave bruises like other packs I’ve used, which makes all the difference on long treks with heavy packs. Along with being cushioned, the hip belt was fitted with two small zipper compartments, which I found perfect for holding my phone and snacks. This backpack fit me super well because every single strap is adjustable, from the hip belt to the chest strap, and even where the straps connect to the top of your pack. Me being kind of shrimpy, most backpacks swallow me whole, so I appreciated being able to shrink everything without feeling like the pack was flopping around or the shoulder straps were rubbing against the side of my neck. The size and the capacity of the backpack itself were also adjustable, meaning that for longer trips, you can pack more things, and for shorter trips, you can strap down the backpack, and there’s not a ton of extra material. This works by having the top of the backpack fold in or out, and the “brain” of the pack being able to adjust to cover any amount of volume change in the top of the pack. Aside from this I really appreciated the compartments and build of the pack, which included a separate sleeping bag pocket and a sleeping pad strap on the bottom, a huge main compartment with a few inner zipper pockets, and an internal and external zipper compartment on the brain. The material of the pack itself is tear-resistant and waterproof, making it perfect for even the toughest terrains. Additionally, the outside of the pack was stocked with loops and rubber attachment points, so I was able to clip and tie on anything we need easy access to, or anything that gets too dirty or wet to put inside.


A few things I would have liked to add to this backpack are a few more pockets on the outside front section of the pack, a removable day pack, and a designated water bladder compartment. The outside of the pack had one large pocket, but the addition of a few more would be helpful for the organization. Some packs I've seen have a removable smaller backpack attached, which can be used for day hikes or carrying food for a scenic picnic once you've reached camp. Lastly, a place to put a water bladder, where there is an exit for the drinking tube would have been awesome, but we made do by just barley leaving the zipper open.


All in all, I would recommend the Deuter Aircontact with complete confidence to any woman who is in need of a backpack for an overnight or multi-day backpacking trip. I especially love the cute colors they are available! Let me know in the comments if you have a favorite backpack, and why you love it!


Happy Hiking!

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page