top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauryl Mergen

A Digital Time Capsule


What I’m into hat I wasn't into five years ago.

I am into doing things differently than the norm. Five years ago I would study what my friends were wearing to school and try to copy their style, and I would pay attention to what they brought to lunch so I could do the same. I desperately wanted to be just like them. These days, I get satisfaction out of doing something that my friends don’t. Right now I am making Kombucha in my dorm room, longboarding to school and trying to make my wardrobe as “Lauryl” as possible. For a while, I even had a rule that I wouldn’t buy shoes unless my friend Libby didn’t like them.


Where I hope to be in five years.

I hope to have my bachelors of science in nursing in five years and be making enough money to pay off my student debt and start building my van. I will be working wherever I am living, which is hopefully Portland, and gaining experience so that I can soon become a travel nurse who lives in my van.


My current favorite songs

- Lost in the light cover by the Ballroom Thieves

- Better in the morning by Birdtalker

- Counting Sheep by Shakey Graves

- Grows Old by Thirdstory

- Archers by the Ballroom Thieves

- Bees by the Ballroom Thieves


What I’m binge watching

I'm still binging Friends and Psych, sometimes intermixed with New Girl or Travels with My Father. I Really need a new show to binge but I don’t have time to consistently pay attention.


What am I fascinated by

Right now I am fascinated by Youtubers, especially Eamon and Bec, who live in their van, and Future Nurse Abby, who is in her senior year of nursing school. I also love watching the Daily Show and Stay Tuned on Snapchat, because they make it easy for me to stay slightly up to date on current events, without getting overloaded with information.


Topic I chew on when my mind is quiet

Getting passed the buzzing anxious mind these days is hard, usually when I am not working on something I think about all the things I wish I was doing, and how I should just sit down and write about how I can do things better. There’s a huge list of small changes that I think I should make, and some big ones. I spend a lot of time brainstorming how I can change my lifestyle to be more sustainable, only to go to starbucks and use a single use plastic the next day. Trying to recall what I think about with a quiet mind is hard because those times are few and far between.


My go-to outfit is usually comfy patterned pants and a tank top, it feels like I’m wearing pajamas but still in style!


My favorite meal is tacos and my favorite drink is… I will hate myself in five years for this… the pumpkin foam cold brew thingy from Starbucks....


In five years I want to tell myself good job for working so hard to get where you are! I also want to remind myself to not take everything so seriously, or if I stopped doing that, which is unlikely, then good job for that too!


What am I spending my money on? Coffee. Coffee and wawa, coffee at the College Ground Cafe, Coffee at Starbucks, Coffee at Giant… it’s ridiculous. I also love to spend money at thrift stores because it feels so much better than buying new expensive clothes, but it's still unnecessary! In five years I would also like to tell myself to stop doing that, because I will have more expenses at that point.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Trash! An attempt at reducing our waste while on the road

I don’t pretend to be an expert on “Zero Waste” practices. I’m just as guilty as everyone else when it comes to consuming single-use plastics, and stabbing a plastic straw through the lid of my freque

Glen Foerd

I have the privilege to host a guest poster on my site this week! Anamata is an aspiring vet who hosts her own blog focusing on biology and wildlife and has responded to my call for destination inspir

bottom of page