top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauryl Mergen

A Desert Gem

We visited Moab because it is conveniently close to Arches National Park, and didn’t really look into it further than that before going. Surrounded by looming red rocks, Moab is a surprisingly green town nestled in the desert, with some of my favorite shops and restaurants that I’ve ever been to. More than that, it embodied the “vibe” that I want someday. Everyone was friendly, tan, dressed in the coolest clothes and had a dog. There was a bustling farmers' market, and adorable natural grocery store and my favorite find ever the Moab Rock Shop.


While the jury is still out on the magical properties of semi-precious stones, I believe that they can be a reminder to a person to remember to think positively or work on whatever quality in themselves that they stone is meant to help with. It also doesn't hurt that they’re beautiful and unique, and the perfect thing to keep in a sunny spot in your house when you get home from a trip. Last year, while I was living in Pennsylvania, my friends and I went to a rock and crystal store in Fishtown, Philadelphia, and marveled at the beauty of the carefully curated bowls of different crystals and little notecards with their meanings. I walked out with a tiny bag with 4 things in it, and fifty dollars less in my bank account. When we pulled over to check out the parking lot full of tables and a barn-looking building called the Moab Rock Shop, I was excited, but fully prepared for the fact that everything would be out of my current budget. I started looking around, however and saw that the tables were loaded with piles of amazing stones and crystals for one, two or three dollars each. I went nuts, actually acting like a kid in a candy store. Two dollar selenite rods, three dollar orange citrine, three for one dollar aquamarine, and a make your own wire wrap station! Seriously, I was in heaven. I remembered looking at the selenite in Fishtown and wishing they weren’t fifteen dollars, because they would look so pretty on my windowsill, and grabbing two off of the rickety table. I made wire wraps for my friends and home, knowing they would remind us to one day come back here together. I went back to the rock shop at least two more times during our three-day visit and got stones for everyone I thought might like them, and plenty for myself.


Healing vibrations or not, I feel warm and fuzzy every time I look at them on my windowsill, and I’m reminded of the glowing days in Moab, and get excited to go back as soon as I can. The whole time I was at the rock shop, aside from my brain buzzing with excitement, all I could think was “holy crap, the earth made this.” Philosophical, right? But seriously, so many different organic processes and an exact combinations of conditions had to occur for this to be created, found, and brought to this table for me to marvel at. Incredible. One last thing that I found amazing about the rock shop: the outside portion had a dropbox where you could pay to buy stones when they were closed. These rocks were in such an abundance, and the people running the shop were so trusting that they just left thousands of rocks out overnight and just expected people to drop their dollar in the box.


This is one of so many reason why, ever since I was there, I've been telling everyone who will listen that they MUST visit Moab. I haven't even written about the Arches yet. Seriously... GO HERE!


Stay tuned for more on Moab!


Happy Trails!

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page