top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauryl Mergen

Podcasts: How to Pass Eight Hours In the Car

Here it is... your guide to entertainment when the conversation runs dry, podcast edition.

I have always been a fan of podcasts, but when we decided to do a road trip, I stopped cold turkey (I know, it was rough) for a few months in an effort to stalk up on episodes. In my opinion, there’s no better way to pass the time, for a few reasons. Firstly, there is endless variety when it comes to podcasts. You could learn about something you’ve always wanted to, but never had the time, you could feel motivated or inspired by a lifestyle podcast, or you could scratch that true-crime itch that everyone has at some point. Secondly, listening to a podcast isn't a huge commitment, because they can be anywhere from 20 minutes to an hour and a half, so if you don’t like it you aren’t wasting much time. You can also listen to a series podcast if you're up for it! Lastly, podcasts are 100% free and available to download on so many platforms. Sounds like a real win win win, right?! In case you need somewhere to start, here are some of my absolute favorites from a few different podcast niches.


No matter a person's area of interest, I ALWAYS will recommend radiolab. I’m not kidding when I say I have listened to every single episode available, and get excited when I get a notification for a new one. I’m serious, radiolab has never failed to blow my mind. I’ve learned that even if the subject of something I have never found interesting, radiolab has a magical way of spinning stories and leave you dumbfounded. For example, I listened to an episode titled “Bit FLip a while ago, which is about the computer systems used in political elections in Belgium. Boring, right? By the end, the producers were talking about rouge cars and cosmic rays, all connecting back to the computers. I had to pick my jaw up off the floor. Among my favorite episodes are the “In the No” series, Birthstory, “The Border Trilogy”, and “23 weeks and 6 days“. Seriously, go give it a listen.


I have a huge crush on these two. Eamon and Bec live full time in their self converted sprinter van, which is basically my entire life's goal. They also have a vegan cookbook and amazing chai company! Not only are they living the dream, but they have a fantastic way of sharing their adventure on their youtube channel and podcast. I fell in love with them after finding their youtube channel, so I was so stoked to find their podcast, so I could bring them along while driving. Eamon and Bec talk about real stuff without hiding their challenges, and share their amazing way of life through honest and inspiring videos and podcast episodes. Listen to one episode and you will have a crush on them too!


This podcast is the best for anyone who loves true crime. Serial has two seasons that follow two cases, and one season with each episode following a different case. Serial will draw you in and leave you wanting more with its riveting story telling and rollercoaster cases.


Limetown is a fictional podcast following a reporter investigating the suspicious disappearance of an entire town. It’s thrilling sci-fi vibe will give you the chill, especially if your driving at 4 AM and are the only one awake. When we started listening to Limetown, we didn’t actually know it was made up, which added another level of spook, but even after we figured it out, Limetown managed to leave us a bit shaken up.


These are just a few of my absolute favorites, and there are so many more out there! I urge you to try them out on your next adventure, morning workout or commute to work!

19 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page